Hostage crisis: Algeria ignored captives' plea to withdraw

Summary Fri 18 Jan, AT 09:06

Algeria's zero-tolerance policy towards insurgents led to troops going in 'with all guns blazing'

Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi record 'belongs to Zambia's Godfrey Chitalu'

One-Minute Read Wed 12 Dec, AT 12:18

Messi has 86 goals, but the great Zambian striker scored 107 times in one year

Nelson Mandela at World Cup closing ceremony

Nelson Mandela responds to treatment but 'sparkle fades'

One-Minute Read Tue 11 Dec, AT 15:33

South African government former president is suffering from recurrent lung infection

Congo: threat of civil war after M23 rebels seize city of Goma

Briefing Wed 21 Nov, AT 11:07

Militia group takes DR Congo city, prompting fears of further conflict in this 'haunted, blood-soaked' country

Somali terrorists al-Shabaab threaten 7/7 style attack on UK

One-Minute Read Tue 23 Oct, AT 12:11

Group linked to al-Qaeda makes series of threats on Twitter – but is on the retreat in Somalia

Libya's 'second revolution' in danger as militias fight back

First Reaction Mon 24 Sep, AT 14:27

Attempts to crack down on Islamist militias in Libya could backfire

People power drives Islamist militias out of Libyan towns

First Post Sun 23 Sep, AT 13:38

Libyan interim leader demands the break up of all militias not under the control of the government

Julius Malema

Julius Malema inflames South African mine dispute

Talking Point Thu 6 Sep, AT 16:04

Former ANC youth leader accused of using deaths to resurrect his political career

South African miners charged under Apartheid-era law

Talking Point Fri 31 Aug, AT 12:37

Use of obscure law to charge Marikana miners with murder of 34 colleagues is 'shameful', says expert

Power vacuum as Ethiopia's Meles Zenawi dies at 57

One-Minute Read Tue 21 Aug, AT 16:19

Instability feared in Horn of Africa after death of PM who held power for 21 years

Pages