Francis Bacon and Rothko lead way as auction records tumble

One-Minute Read Thu 15 Nov, AT 12:02

Sotheby's New York takes record $375m in a day as 'Teflon-coated' art market proves its resilience again

Lucy McKenzie, May of Teck

Pollock, Hockney, Klein, make A Bigger Splash at the Tate

Hot Ticket Wed 14 Nov, AT 08:45

Tate Modern's new performance and painting show has everything from paint orgies to pigs' guts

Cartier-Bresson's heirs bring colour to Somerset House

Hot Ticket Tue 13 Nov, AT 08:09

New show, A Question of Colour, reveals master street photographer's enduring influence

Why shouldn't Tower Hamlets sell off its £20m Henry Moore?

Talking Point Thu 8 Nov, AT 11:35

London council's decision to cash in on sculpture donated by the artist has provoked howls of anguish

Snap! National Gallery pairs photography with fine art

Hot Ticket Thu 1 Nov, AT 07:19

'Seduced by Art' sets a Martin Parr photograph alongside the Gainsborough that inspired him

Damien Hirst's Verity: hideous eyesore or boost for tourism?

First Reaction Thu 18 Oct, AT 10:52

Seaside town Ilfracombe divided by 65ft bronze statue of woman 'with half her foetus hanging out'

Tate Modern's double vision: William Klein, Daido Moriyama

Hot Ticket Tue 16 Oct, AT 07:46

'Exhilarating' new show compares two great photographers of modern urban life

Richard Hamilton's great Late Works at the National Gallery

Hot Ticket Thu 11 Oct, AT 08:21

This enigmatic and coolly beautiful show reveals the genius of Britain's leading pop artist

Vlad the Scrawler claims he's increased Rothko's value

First Reaction Mon 8 Oct, AT 10:36

Man who defaced Rothko is former art student and co-founder of obscure ‘yellowism' movement

Spartacus Chetwynd

Turner Prize show: from psychoanalysis to poo jokes

Hot Ticket Wed 3 Oct, AT 07:30

Among the pantomime and poo drawings, there’s some serious and important art

Pages