Shaw, Barkley and Sterling in England World Cup squad

May 12, 2014

Roy Hodgson puts his trust in youth and physios as he names 23-man party for World Cup in Brazil

Scott Heavey/Getty Images)

ENGLAND manager Roy Hodgson has announced his squad for the Brazil World Cup, which starts next month, with no major surprises among his selections, although the emphasis is on youth. There are 23 players in the squad and seven more on standby.
Southampton's 18-year-old defender Luke Shaw and 20-year-old Everton midfielder Ross Barkley are the two most inexperienced players in the squad, but other young players to make the cut include Adam Lallana, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Raheem Sterling. Everton defender John Stones is also on the standby list.
The Guardian notes that ten of the 23 players in the main squad have ten or fewer England caps, "which could be construed as a positive or a negative, depending on your point of view".
But Phil McNulty of the BBC notes that the "old guard" is still represented through the likes of Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard.
The biggest talking point is the omission of Chelsea veteran Ashley Cole who has been overlooked in favour of Shaw. However the news did not come as a surprise as Cole revealed that he was not in the squad last night and also announced his retirement from international football.
The FA confirmed the squad at 2pm, and Hodgson appeared at a press conference at a car factory in Luton soon afterwards.

Several of the squad also have question marks over their fitness. Arsenal pair Jack Wilshere and Oxlade-Chamberlain, plus Phil Jones of Manchester United are recovering from injuries, but are expected to be fully fit for the tournament.
England's first game is against Italy on 14 June.
England squad:
Joe Hart (Manchester City), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Fraser Forster (Celtic)
Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Man Utd), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Man Utd)
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool, captain), Ross Barkley (Everton), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)
Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)
Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool),
John Ruddy (Norwich City), John Stones (Everton)

Sign up for our daily newsletter