Recession

George Osborne

Pressure on Osborne as IMF issues gloomy growth forecast

First Post
Tue 9 Oct, AT 07:19

UK needs to be ready to reverse current austerity tactics if economy remains weak, says Fund

Shuttered shops recession

UK recession not so bad after all

Business Digest
Fri 28 Sep, AT 10:51

Office for National Statistics says GDP contracted by 0.4 per cent - not 0.7 per cent as originally estimated

Alistair Darling

Growth in service sector boosts UK economy

One-Minute Read
Wed 5 Sep, AT 12:27

UK is 'clawing its way out of recession' with service sector growth

Planning laws part 2: Tories prepare for civil war again

Talking Point
Mon 3 Sep, AT 15:55

Cameron and Osborne hope relaxing planning laws will drag UK out of recession - but we've been here before

UK push for growth expected - but will it be enough?

One-Minute Read
Wed 22 Aug, AT 10:02

Chancellor urged by business leaders to move quickly as poll shows just 16% of voters trust him

Retail growth prompts question - is it not as bad as we thought?

One-Minute Read
Thu 16 Aug, AT 14:02

Better sales figures for July, and an upward revision of June's figures, increase hopes of recovery

Recession blamed for 1000 British suicides

First Post
Wed 15 Aug, AT 15:05

A study has found that the financial crisis reversed a downward trend in the number of suicides

UK falls further into recession, but could euro woes save us?

First Reaction
Wed 25 Jul, AT 13:27

Osborne blames GDP contraction on euro debt crisis, but one analyst believes EU's travails could save us

shopping

Poundland profits jump 27% as ABs go budget shopping

One-Minute Read
Tue 3 Jul, AT 10:24

£1-an-item chain plans to open hundreds more stores as recession brings in middle-class customers

Imports exports containers docks

UK set to stay in recession as trade deficit increases

First Post
Fri 15 Jun, AT 15:41

Export decline 'much worse than expected' as trade deficit hits highest level for seven years

Pages