Shackles hang at Guantanamo Bay, Cuba

Barack Obama: 'We tortured some folks' after 9/11

First Reaction Mon 4 Aug, AT 12:54

White House said those responsible were 'real patriots', as human rights groups call for 'legal consequences'

Escorts at work in an exclusive Berlin Night Club

Prostitution: the pros and cons of decriminalisation

Talking Point Tue 22 Jul, AT 15:40

Amnesty and the World Health Organisation say prostitution should be legal, but opposition remains strong

Amnesty report reveals global spike in executions

One-Minute Read Thu 27 Mar, AT 11:04

Iran and Iraq drove a worldwide increase, while Texas was responsible for 40 per cent of American executions

Hundreds of vulnerable Syrians to be given refuge in UK

One-Minute Read Wed 29 Jan, AT 09:30

Amnesty says move is 'long overdue' but polls suggest nearly half of voters are opposed

Amnesty chairman quits over mental illness jokes

One-Minute Read Wed 14 Aug, AT 10:43

Ciarnan Helferty steps down after Twitter gags about schizophrenia and OCD deemed 'incongruent'

Sinai desert gangs torture victims with fire for ransom

Summary Mon 26 Nov, AT 13:55

'My body is burning,' Eritrean torture victim tells Radio 4 Today after desert kidnapping

Amnesty International

Charity of the week Thu 11 Oct, AT 13:51

Standing up for humanity and human rights

Global outrage as Bahrain court upholds protesters’ convictions

First Reaction Tue 4 Sep, AT 12:31

Thirteen activists, including eight who received life sentences, are offered no reprieve by regime

US police officer with shotgun

US police fire more bullets in a month than Germans use in a year

One-Minute Read Mon 14 May, AT 11:41

German police used 85 bullets in 2011, according to a report. LA police fired 90 in one incident last month

Charles Taylor found guilty of aiding Sierra Leone war crimes

First Reaction Thu 26 Apr, AT 13:06

Former president of Liberia helped rebels plan atrocities and was paid in 'blood' diamonds

Pages