Paym – a new system allowing people to send and receive payments using just a mobile phone

Paym mobile payment: how does it work and is it safe?

Briefing Tue 29 Apr, AT 12:50

New system allows bank customers to send and receive payments using just a mobile phone number

Shopping; high street; economy; recession

Britain's recovery propped up by consumer spending

Brief Fri 27 Sep, AT 11:59

UK economy grew 0.7% in the second quarter but lack of trade and investment growth cast shadow over data

HSBC

Britain's top banks back in black but 'dangers remain'

One-Minute Read Tue 20 Aug, AT 11:13

Big five return to profitability but KPMG warns growth won't match pre-2008 levels

The great savings swindle: 'UK savers have lost £500bn'

Personal Finance Fri 9 Aug, AT 08:34

The fallout from Mark Carney's 'forward guidance' is exacerbated by the sneaky tactics of banks

Moody's praises UK banks and upgrades outlook

Brief Thu 11 Jul, AT 10:38

Big banks would be able to withstand another financial crisis and profits are set to rise

Roger Bootle lines up £50m Capital Economics sale

One-Minute Read Fri 7 Jun, AT 13:51

Bootle has worked at several City banks and stockbrokers, including Citibank.

As Lions get ready to swelter in HK, was this such a good idea?

First Post Fri 31 May, AT 07:57

Australia-bound rugby squad risks dehydration and heat exhaustion because of stopover in Hong Kong

Lloyds

Lloyds, HSBC, RBS and Barclays to have axed 189,000 jobs by 2013

One-Minute Read Wed 29 May, AT 12:26

Figures show banks will have cut their headcount by 24% to a nine-year low of 606,000,

After Libor, could silver and gold become the next scandal?

One-Minute Read Thu 14 Mar, AT 12:14

The price of gold has been set in London by five banks since 1919 – but can it be manipulated?

End for Jessops, camera chain that began as a chemist's shop

Brief Thu 10 Jan, AT 08:33

Administrator PWC admits that even if a buyer can be found, there will be store closures

Pages