John Lewis

John Lewis profits down 40% despite strong sales

Brief Fri 13 Sep, AT 13:16

Miscalculation of holiday pay led to £47.3m pay-out to employees, counteracting company's sales surge

Sports Direct 220213

Sports Direct staff get £70,000 each in profits bonus

Brief Fri 19 Jul, AT 10:40

'It's better than working in the City,' says one staffer as even lowest paid shop assistants enjoy bonanza

Carphone Warehouse sells flagship Oxford Street store

Brief Tue 9 Jul, AT 12:54

G-Star Raw’s purchase is latest in growing trend of overseas demand for property in West End

John Lewis; retail; British high street; shopping

John Lewis loses Peter Ruis, man who made it fashionable

Brief Tue 2 Jul, AT 11:58

Ruis, who turned 'fusty' store into fashion icon, jumps ship to become chief of Jigsaw

Pros and cons of mini-bonds: what the experts think

Personal Finance Fri 24 May, AT 11:11

Is it worth betting on the Jockey Club and and the new wave of mini-bonds? There are drawbacks

Morrisons seal online shopping deal with Ocado

One-Minute Read Fri 17 May, AT 10:50

Grocer to make first foray into online world - but how will Waitrose react to Ocado's deal with its rival?

WH Smith shares and profits up as CEO Swann leaves on high

One-Minute Read Fri 12 Apr, AT 09:40

Outgoing boss takes 'swipe' at rivals as she posts million-pound profit despite tricky retail climate

Money

Laura Ashley 'bullies' suppliers

One-Minute Read Mon 25 Mar, AT 09:18

Clothing company accused of 'outrageous, bullying and arrogant letter'

John Lewis accused of bullying suppliers into cutting their bills

One-Minute Read Tue 12 Mar, AT 10:44

Retailer tells companies to trim their invoices if they increase sales through its outlets

John Lewis staff get 17 per cent bonus for 2013

One-Minute Read Fri 8 Mar, AT 08:19

Employees to receive payouts worth nine weeks' pay despite looming cutbacks

Pages