Lionel Messi

Head coach Gerardo 'Tata' Martino of FC Barcelona

Messi's crown slips as Euro exit adds to Barcelona woes

First Reaction
Thu 10 Apr, AT 12:11

Lacklustre defeat to Atletico Madrid does not bode well for Barca coach Gerardo Martino

Lionel Messi

Messi Barcelona hat-trick wins 'Clasico' thriller at Real Madrid

First Reaction
Mon 24 Mar, AT 14:14

Penalties, goals, conspiracy theories and even 'weddings and funerals' at the Bernabeu

Pellegrini hints at Barcelona conspiracy as City face exit

Match Report
Wed 19 Feb, AT 09:14

Etihad boss claims Swedish referee was rectifying previous mistakes he made against Barcelona

Ronaldo wins Ballon d'Or

Ronaldo wins Ballon d’Or, but vote reveals Messi rivalry

Talking Point
Tue 14 Jan, AT 12:58

Neither player picked the other in their top three, as Portuguese pips Argentine to award

Cristiano Ronaldo

Why Cristiano Ronaldo must beat Messi to the Ballon d'Or

Talking Point
Mon 13 Jan, AT 13:23

Real Madrid superstar is expected to end his rival's reign as the world's best footballer tonight

Cristiano Ronaldo

Ronaldo crushes Ibrahimovic as hat-trick finally eclipses Messi

First Reaction
Wed 20 Nov, AT 10:53

Amazing hat-trick earns Portugal a place in Brazil and should see Ronaldo crowned the greatest

Cristiano Ronaldo gets apology after Blatter hairdresser jibe

One-Minute Read
Wed 30 Oct, AT 11:40

Real Madrid furious over 'light-hearted' Oxford Union comments about Messi and Ronaldo

Bale joins Messi and Ronaldo on Ballon d'Or shortlist

One-Minute Read
Tue 29 Oct, AT 12:49

No Englishmen feature on the 23-man shortlist for Fifa's footballer of the year award

Pope meets 'God' as Messi blessed at Vatican

Video
Thu 15 Aug, AT 12:47

Pope Francis was granted a rare, private audience with a footballing god in the Vatican this week

Mourinho 'under investigation' by Spanish tax authorities

First Reaction
Wed 26 Jun, AT 11:15

First Lionel Messi, now Chelsea boss caught up in Spanish clampdown

Pages