Lily Cole in The Iliad

The Last Days of Troy – reviews of 'vivid' Homer play

Hot Ticket Mon 19 May, AT 07:41

Critics 'fascinated' by Lily Cole's full stage debut as Helen in raw new Homer adaptation

Don Brind

Is Nigel Farage the right man to make Ukip a real political force?

Fri 14 Feb, AT 12:21 Don Brind

Ukip can split the Tories - but failure to win over Labour voters in by-election exposes weak spots

Police solve mystery of man carrying 'bloody bags'

One-Minute Read Wed 29 Jan, AT 11:46

Onlooker horrified as man enters Manchester tram station with red liquid dripping from bags

Emo assault: first arrests under new hate crime policy

One-Minute Read Thu 11 Apr, AT 10:56

A 16-year-old 'emo' punched in face is first person to report hate crime after police change policy

HS2's second phase - five things you need to know

Briefing Mon 28 Jan, AT 11:02

Opponents are up in arms, but the government says HS2's £33 billion second phase will boost economy

John Terry's season could be all over after collision with Suarez

Match Report Mon 12 Nov, AT 10:50

Draw with Liverpool sees Chelsea slide into third behind the two Manchesters; Arsenal go eighth

Can Wiggins crash end conflict between driver and cyclists?

Talking Point Fri 9 Nov, AT 12:50

This is not a war between drivers and cyclists - it's a war between angry people. Now is the time to calm the debate

Man Utd extend perfect run in Europe, Chelsea grab late win

Match Report Thu 8 Nov, AT 10:14

United into Champions League knock-out stages as last-gasp Blues keep their hopes alive

The typical music pirate: an Ed Sheeran fan living in Manchester

One-Minute Read Mon 17 Sep, AT 13:40

Research shows Manchester is the piracy capital of the UK - and Ed Sheeran is the most illegally downloaded

London riots

Police fear further city riots as watchdog predicts more cuts

First Post Mon 2 Jul, AT 14:08

Officers warn that if riots break out while London Games are on, they won’t be able to cope

Pages