Olympics

Russia World Cup: a history of sporting boycotts

Briefing
Fri 12 Sep, AT 14:31

If some nations refuse to take part in the 2018 World Cup in Russia, they will be following in a long tradition

Eleven things women in Saudi Arabia can't do

Summary
Tue 24 Feb, AT 13:20

Female TV presenters forced to cover up in strict Islamic dress in the latest blow to women's rights

Ian Thorpe racing in the men's 100m butterfly

Ian Thorpe 'in intensive care' and could lose use of arm

One-Minute Read
Tue 8 Apr, AT 13:59

Troubled Australian swimmer, who has been in rehab, picked up infection after surgery say reports

Rebecca Adlington: nose op prompts anger and regret

First Reaction
Tue 25 Feb, AT 15:28

Why would other sportswomen want to represent country if focus is on their looks, ask columnists?

Britain welcomes a tourist every second in June

Brief
Fri 16 Aug, AT 13:31

London Games and weak sterling give UK tourism a big boost this summer

Mo Farah Usain Bolt

A new challenge for Bolt as Farah suggests 600m charity race

First Reaction
Mon 29 Jul, AT 11:44

Race between Olympic champions could become a reality, but are Bolt's powers on the wane?

Football reaches 'tipping point' as summer sports bask in glory

First Reaction
Fri 12 Jul, AT 10:02

Once again questions are being asked about the future of the national sport as others celebrate

Australia in Ashes disarray, but it's too soon to gloat

Talking Point
Wed 10 Jul, AT 09:45

Some wonder if the Aussie cricketers will give England a game, others fear they could spring a surprise

Usain Bolt stays cool after losing to Justin Gatlin in 100m shock

First Post
Fri 7 Jun, AT 09:48

'You learn more from losing. You can't win every race in your career,' says Bolt after Rome Golden Gala

Maracana fiasco raises Brazil World Cup and Olympic fears

First Reaction
Fri 31 May, AT 10:49

England friendly match in Rio suspended by judge over stadium safety concerns but then reinstated

Pages