In Brief

IPL 2019 Auction: most expensive deals and unsold players

England’s Sam Curran was a big winner after signing for Kings XI Punjab

Sixty players were sold at the 2019 Indian Premier League (IPL) Auction with the eight franchises spending £12m on new recruits.

Out of the 60 players who went under the hammer in December, 20 were from overseas including England’s Sam Curran, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Denly, Harry Gurney and Liam Livingstone.

Curran landed an £800,000 deal to sign for Kings XI Punjab while Bairstow was picked up by Sunrisers Hyderabad for £240,000.

The two biggest deals of the 2019 auction saw £940,000 spent on Varun Chakravarthy (Kings XI Punjab) and Jaydev Unadkat (Rajasthan Royals).

Here we look at the most expensive buys, the England stars in the IPL and the players who went unsold.  

2019 IPL Auction

Top five most expensive buys

As well as getting Sam Curran for £800,000, Kings XI Punjab also forked out £940,000 for spinner Varun Chakravarthy. Rajasthan Royals paid £940,000 for seam bowler Jaydev Unadkat.

  • £940,000: Varun Chakravarthy (India) to Kings XI Punjab 
  • £940,000: Jaydev Unadkat (India) to Rajasthan Royals 
  • £800,000: Sam Curran (England) to Kings XI Punjab 
  • £715,000: Colin Ingram (South Africa) to Delhi Capitals 
  • £560,000: Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies) to Kolkata Knight Riders
Top buys for each team
  • Rajasthan Royals: Jaydev Unadkat (bowler, India, £940,000)
  • Kings XI Punjab: Varun Chakravarthy (all-rounder, India, £940,000)
  • Delhi Capitals: Colin Ingram (batsman, South Africa, £715,000)
  • Chennai Super Kings: Mohit Sharma (bowler, India, £562,470)
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: Carlos Brathwaite (all-rounder, West Indies, £560,000)
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Shivam Dubey (all-rounder, India, £562,470)
  • Mumbai Indians: Barinder Singh Sran (bowler, India, £381,801)
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper, England, £240,000)
Who went unsold?
  • Brendon McCullum (batsman, New Zealand)
  • Chris Woakes (all-rounder, England) 
  • Shaun Marsh (batsman, Australia) 
  • Corey Anderson (all-rounder, New Zealand) 
  • Angelo Mathews (all-rounder, Sri Lanka) 
  • Alex Hales (batsman, England) 
  • Rilee Rossouw (batsman, South Africa) 
  • Morne Morkel (bowler, South Africa) 
  • Dale Steyn (bowler, South Africa) 
  • Chris Jordan (all-rounder, England) 
  • Adam Zampa (bowler, Australia) 
  • Hashim Amla (batsman, South Africa) 
  • Usman Khawaja (batsman, Australia) 
  • Daniel Christian (all-rounder, Australia) 
  • Kane Richardson (bowler, Australia) 
  • James Pattinson (bowler, Australia) 
  • Eoin Morgan (batsman, England)
England players in the IPL
India Premier League IPL auction

Indian Premier League 2019 guide

What is the IPL and when does the 2019 season start?

The IPL is a Twenty20 cricket tournament featuring eight franchises. The 2019 edition will be the 12th year and the season starts on 29 March. Because of the general elections in India the 2019 tournament could be held in the UAE or South Africa, but this is yet to be confirmed. Wisden reports that the final will be held on 19 May - 11 days before the start of the ICC Cricket World Cup. 

Which teams play in the IPL?

There are eight IPL franchises: Chennai Super Kings (winners in 2010, 2011 and 2018); Delhi Capitals; Kings XI Punjab; Kolkata Knight Riders (winners in 2012 and 2014); Mumbai Indians (winners in 2013, 2015 and 2017); Rajasthan Royals (winners in 2008); Royal Challengers Bangalore; Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016).

How does the IPL season work?

The eight teams will play each other twice in a home-and-away format. At the end of the double round-robin group stage the top four teams will qualify for the play-offs. The top two teams face off in the qualifier one round and the third and fourth-placed teams play in the eliminator round. The winner of qualifier one goes straight through to the final, while the loser plays the victor of the eliminator match for a place in the showpiece final.

How to watch the IPL on TV in the UK

Sky Sports announced a new multi-year deal to broadcast the IPL. In 2019 Sky Sports will show 60 live matches each year in the UK and Ireland.


Africa Cup of Nations: eight killed after stampede in Cameroon
The scene of the stampede at Olembe Stadium in Yaoundé, Cameroon 
The latest on . . .

Africa Cup of Nations: eight killed after stampede in Cameroon

English football fan disorder ‘getting worse’
Aston Villa’s Matty Cash and Lucas Digne were struck by a bottle at Goodison Park
In Focus

English football fan disorder ‘getting worse’

A guide to the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics
A lantern containing the Olympic flame for the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics
In Depth

A guide to the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics

Novak Djokovic: a poster boy for anti-vaxxers?
A ‘Thanks Djoko’ placard at a demonstration against health passes and Covid-19 vaccines in Paris on 15 January
Why we’re talking about . . .

Novak Djokovic: a poster boy for anti-vaxxers?

Popular articles

Is Bosnia on the brink of another civil war?
Bosnian Serb leader Milorad Dodik
In Depth

Is Bosnia on the brink of another civil war?

Why is New Zealand shutting its borders again?
Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern adjusts her face mask following a press conference
In Depth

Why is New Zealand shutting its borders again?

Djokovic vs. Nadal vs. Federer: career records and grand slams
Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer have all won 20 grand slam singles titles

Djokovic vs. Nadal vs. Federer: career records and grand slams

The Week Footer Banner